Skip to main content
REWARD POINTS CARD

American Express® Gold Card

American Express

A charge card that earns Membership Rewards Points on everyday and utility spends, with a welcome gift, a renewal benefit, dining offers and no pre-set spending limit.

The page says new applications are temporarily paused in India. No points on fuel, insurance or cash; utility points are capped monthly. Welcome gift needs the first-year fee and a spend in 90 days.

American Express Gold Card
ANNUAL FEE
₹4,500 + GST
JOINING FEE
₹1,000 + GST
REWARDS
Not stated
Earning terms not yet recorded
KEY BENEFIT
Earns 1 Membership Rewards Point per ₹50 spent, including utilities, plus 1,000 bonus points on 6 transactions of ₹1,000 each every calendar month.
BEST FOR
Included: May suit cardholders who pay utility bills on the card and make several transactions each month.
Included: May suit cardholders who pay utility bills on the card, which earn points up to 10,000 a month.
Included: May suit those who make 6 transactions of ₹1,000 each in a month to earn the monthly bonus points.
Included: May suit those who dine at select restaurant partners for the offer of up to 20% off.
Limitation: Less suited to spends on fuel, insurance or cash, which earn no points may wish to compare other cards.
Limitation: Those spends on fuel, insurance or cash, which earn no points may wish to compare other cards.
Limitation: Applicants with personal annual income below ₹6,00,000, the stated eligibility level may wish to compare other cards.
Limitation: Those residents outside the listed cities may wish to compare other cards.
Typical fit only. This is not personalised advice and not an indication of approval.
GOOD TO KNOW
Condition: Fuel convenience fees apply: 0% at HPCL below ₹5,000 and 1% from ₹5,000; 1% at BPCL/IOCL; 2.5% at other oil companies (min ₹10 + taxes).
Condition: 'No pre-set limit' does not mean unlimited spending; charges are approved on spend pattern, financials, credit record and account history.

Rewards & real value

What the card earns, and what changes that figure in practice.
WHAT THE CARD EARNS
EVERYTHING ELSE
Not stated
No earning rate recorded for this card
REWARD POINT VALUE
Not stated
Effective return cannot be calculated without it

Eligibility

Minimum income
Not stated
Minimum age
18
Maximum age
Not stated

Fees & ownership

Joining fee
₹1,000 + GST
Annual / renewal fee
₹4,500 + GST
Fee waived at
Not stated
Forex markup
Not stated
Finance charge
Not stated
Cash withdrawal fee
Not stated
Late-payment charge
Not stated
Interest-free period
Not stated

Benefits & privileges

TRAVEL
Domestic airport lounge
Not stated
International airport lounge
Not stated
Railway lounge
Not stated
Lounge spend requirement
Not stated
Lounge programme
Not stated
EVERYDAY
Fuel
Not stated
Dining
Up to 20% off at select restaurant partners.
RuPay / UPI
Not stated

Caps, exclusions and redemption

Major excluded categories
No Membership Rewards points on insurance, cash transactions or, from 12 June 2025, fuel (petrol, diesel, CNG from OMCs).; Insurance, cash transactions and fuel (from 12 June 2025)
Categories earning nothing
Not stated
Monthly reward cap
Not stated
Annual reward cap
Not stated
Reward point value
Not stated
Points expiry
Not stated
Redemption fee
Not stated
Minimum redemption
Not stated
Credited automatically
Not stated

Who this card may suit

MAY SUIT
Included: Earns 1 Membership Rewards Point per ₹50 spent, including utilities, plus 1,000 bonus points on 6 transactions of ₹1,000 each every calendar month.
Included: No pre-set spending limit; charges are approved on spending pattern, financials, credit record and account history.
Included: Renewal benefit: 5,000 Membership Rewards points on first-year renewal with the fee paid, credited within 90 days.
Included: Redeem points for vouchers in the 18 and 24 Karat Gold Collection, e.g. Taj, Shoppers Stop, Tanishq, Amazon.
MAY NOT SUIT
Not stated
Typical fit only, based on the card’s own published terms. This is not personalised advice and not an indication of approval.
Visit bank website (opens in a new tab)

Figures last checked 31 Oct 2026 against the issuer’s published terms.