Skip to main content
REWARD POINTS CARD

American Express Membership Rewards® Credit Card

American Express

Earns Membership Rewards Points on everyday spends, plus bonus points for a welcome spend, monthly usage milestones and first-year renewal. Points can be redeemed for vouchers from the Gold Collection.

No points on fuel, insurance, utilities, cash transactions or EMI at point of sale. Welcome points need joining fee paid and a spend in 90 days. Second-year fee is higher. New applications are temporarily paused.

American Express Membership Rewards® Credit Card
ANNUAL FEE
₹1,000 + GST
JOINING FEE
Not stated
REWARDS
Not stated
Earning terms not yet recorded
KEY BENEFIT
Earns 1 Membership Rewards Point for every ₹50 spent, with bonus points for monthly usage and spend milestones.
BEST FOR
Included: May suit a spender who wants Membership Rewards Points and voucher redemption.
Included: May suit regular card use with several transactions of ₹1,500 or more each month.
Included: May suit spends of ₹20,000 or more in a month, where the enrolment-based bonus applies.
Included: May suit those who prefer redeeming points for brand vouchers such as Taj, Amazon or Flipkart.
Limitation: Those whose spends are mainly fuel, insurance or utilities, which earn no points may wish to compare other cards.
Limitation: Those spends that are mainly fuel, insurance or utilities may wish to compare other cards.
Limitation: Those anyone wanting a low ongoing fee may wish to compare other cards.
Typical fit only. This is not personalised advice and not an indication of approval.
GOOD TO KNOW
Condition: Welcome points are credited only on payment of the joining fee and spending ₹15,000 within the first 90 days of Cardmembership.
Condition: The ₹20,000 monthly spend bonus is enrolment based, and renewal points are credited within 90 days of card renewal.

Rewards & real value

What the card earns, and what changes that figure in practice.
WHAT THE CARD EARNS
EVERYTHING ELSE
Not stated
No earning rate recorded for this card
REWARD POINT VALUE
Not stated
Effective return cannot be calculated without it

Eligibility

Minimum income
Not stated
Minimum age
18
Maximum age
Not stated

Fees & ownership

Joining fee
Not stated
Annual / renewal fee
₹1,000 + GST
Fee waived at
₹4,500 renewal fee: 100% waived at ₹1,50,000+ spends in prior membership year; 50% waived at ₹90,000–₹1,49,999
Forex markup
Not stated
Finance charge
Not stated
Cash withdrawal fee
Not stated
Late-payment charge
Not stated
Interest-free period
Not stated

Benefits & privileges

TRAVEL
Domestic airport lounge
Not stated
International airport lounge
Not stated
Railway lounge
Not stated
Lounge spend requirement
Not stated
Lounge programme
Not stated
EVERYDAY
Fuel
Not stated
Dining
Discounts of up to 20% at select restaurants
RuPay / UPI
Not stated

Caps, exclusions and redemption

Major excluded categories
No points on fuel, insurance, utilities (electricity, water, gas), cash transactions, or EMI chosen on a merchant site or terminal; SafeKey and post-purchase EMI still earn.; Fuel, insurance, utilities (electricity, water, gas), cash transactions and EMI conversion at point of sale
Categories earning nothing
Not stated
Monthly reward cap
Not stated
Annual reward cap
Not stated
Reward point value
Not stated
Points expiry
Not stated
Redemption fee
Not stated
Minimum redemption
Not stated
Credited automatically
Not stated

Who this card may suit

MAY SUIT
Included: Earns 1 Membership Rewards Point for every ₹50 spent, with bonus points for monthly usage and spend milestones.
Included: Bonus of 1,000 Membership Rewards Points for 4 transactions of ₹1,500+ in a calendar month.
Included: 5,000 Membership Rewards Points on first-year renewal, on payment of the annual membership fee, credited within 90 days.
Included: Points can be redeemed for Gold Collection vouchers; American Express EMI lets spends be split into instalments.
MAY NOT SUIT
Not stated
Typical fit only, based on the card’s own published terms. This is not personalised advice and not an indication of approval.
Visit bank website (opens in a new tab)

Figures last checked 31 Oct 2026 against the issuer’s published terms.